Academic and Cultural High Achievers

By Cathi Graham | Posted: Tuesday December 3, 2013

Academic and Cultural High Achievers for 2013.

NZQA Scholarships

Logan Park students have received 94 scholarships, the highest total number of NZQA scholarships awarded over the last five years in Otago and Southland. 14 Scholarships were awarded to Logan Park students in 2012. Scholarships went to:

  • Andrew Brinsley-Pirie - Drama
  • Peita Ferens- Green – English and History
  • Rhian Gaffney – English, Biology and Classical Studies
  • Dominic Harrison – Drama
  • Katrina Lamont - English
  • Emelia Mixter – Media Studies, Photography, History
  • Gareth McMullen – Media Studies
  • Jasmine Seifert-Simpson – Statistics and Modelling
  • Alexander Van Alphen Fyfe – Classical Studies
  • Samantha Buckby - Lizzie Rathburn scholarship for top mark in Otago for English

Otago Polytechnic Scholarships

  • Tayla Hohaia - Otago Polytechnic Mana Pounamu Scholarship
  • Sequoia Cunningham  - Otago Polytechnic Young Pacifica Scholarship
  • Pepa Belton  - Otago Polytechnic Principal’s Scholarship

University of Otago scholarships

  • Matthew Scadden – Excellence and Young Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship
  • Jasmine Seifert-Simpson – Excellence and Young Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship
  • Alice Freeman – Excellence and Young Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship and Dux Scholarship
  • Sequoia Cunningham – Young Maori and Pacifica Scholarship

Otago Daily Times Class Act 2013  - Jasmine Seifert-Simpson and Matthew Scadden 


  • Meran Campbell-Hood – finalist in NZ wide Realise the Dream science competition
  • Peter Barnett, Charlie Ruffman and Jasmine Seifert-Simpson – selected for National Rotary Science and Technology forum at Auckland University
  • Rosemanda van der Linde – delegate to Sir Peter Blake Youth Enviro Leaders’ Forum
  • Oscar McNoe - Aurora Otago Science &Technology Challenge winner of “Best Understanding of Technology” 
  • Grant McNaughton, Meran Campbell-Hood, Ethan Gaffney - Aurora Science & Technology Fair Premier Winners 2013 


  • Otago Junior Classics Quiz Winners - for 7th year in a row


  • Otago History Quiz team winners 
  • Otago regional winners of ODT EXTRA current Affairs Quiz

Cultural Awards

  • Otago Senior Debating Champions 2013
  • Jacobi Kohu-Morris - Youth Parliament representative
  • First in English section of Ngā Manu Kōrero Speech Competition for Otago/Southland
  • Race Unity Speech - Otago winner and runner up in NZ competition
  • Oscar McGuire  - Top in Grade 6 of NZ Speech Board Public Speaking exam
  • Charlie Ruffman - Otago Rotary Speech competition winner
  • Sequoia Cunningham - Otago Smokefree Rockquest Best Soloist 2013
  • Hobo Films  - V48 Hour Film competition Best School Team award for Otago
  • Matthew Scadden -  Top Otago Shakespearean Actor 2013 and selected for NZ Secondary Schools London Globe Theatre troupe 2014
  • Charlie Ruffman, Matthew Scadden, Peter Barnett and Blake McAlevey-Scurr - MUNA (Model United Nations) Best Team award for Otago-Southland for 3rd year in a row 
  • MUNA  best speakers in Otago -  Jacobi Kohu-Morris and Blake McAlevey-Scurr and selected for national MUNA in Wellington
  • Oscar McGuire, Clair Caird, Tarren Loughran and Ben Clayton - New Zealand Post Book Quiz Winners for Otago 2013
  • Otago Essay Awards to Helen Prime and Charlie Hilton
  • Josephine Devereux, published poet in New Zealand School for Young Writers' Re-Draft publication 


  • Rhodes Scholarship awarded to ex-head boy Ben Abraham 2013
  • Bene Stewart –  NZQA Top Art Folio in NZ  2013
  • Patrick Dawson, John Brinsley-Pirie, Alec Dawson and Keiran Bunn -  all four made up the Otago University team in World Debating Competition 2013


Image Gallery