The Hillary Challenge

By Warwick Kain | Posted: Sunday May 28, 2023

The Hillary Challenge 6 hour rogaine cycle run-race took place in Geraldine.

Teams of 8 from schools all over the South Island competed for the opportunity to qualify for a national rogaine in Taupo later in the year.

Our team was: Tsugumi Watanabe-Parks, Lauren Davey, Ren Bartlett, Taya Kain, Solly Armstrong, Aedan Lehr, Taisei O'Sullivan-Naito and Loek Van Broekhoven.

Teams receive a map 20 mins before the race and have to plan the route while searching for markers that are worth points. The first section is one hour on foot, then they return to get another map for a three hour ride section, followed by a 2 hour foot race. Only one team can finish on the podium but the real win is crossing the line after 6 hours of navigation, mud, pain, bikes breaking down and mental soul searching.

Image Gallery